Vegan MOFO and culinary aspirations

It’s Vegan MoFo y’all! October is the Vegan Month of Food. I am vegan so I always eat vegan food. Which is the same as saying I eat food. So do you. So does everyone on this planet. “Vegan food” is not different than any other food. It simply does not include animal products or inflict pain and suffering. Since I have time now, I am going to celebrate Vegan MoFo this year by attempting to chronicle what I cook. The idea is to keep a running log of all the yuminess we eat and help shed the light on a healthier life.

Vegan MoFo – yay!

October 1, 2012 – dinner

– roasted sweet potatoes

Gardein crispy tenders

– red chard sauteed in EVOO

I love sweet potatoes. LOVE them. Who doesn’t? And they are SO EASY! Bake, slow cook, microwave, whatever! Yesterday I decided, as I often do, to simply pop them in the slow cooker.

Recipe:

Wash and scrub potatoes thoroughly. Place in slow cooker while still damp. No need to dry them. Put the cover on, set on low, and walk away for 5-6 hours. I put mine in at 1pm, turned it off at about 7pm, and we ate them at 8pm. They were perfect.

The crispy tenders are pretty simple as well. I placed six of them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper*. Cooked at 430 degrees for 10 minutes. Flipped them and cooked another 10 minutes.

Crispy and yummy. They could have cooked longer and been more crispy. Just depends on how you like them!

For the red chard I simply de-stemmed a whole head of it, washed it under cool water and placed it in a large saute pan coated with EVOO. I don’t dry the leaves because I want the water to steam them. Pop a lid on the pan and cook on medium for about 5-10 minutes, depending on how your stove heats up and how soft you like the chard. This particular bunch was just perfect. It looked and tasted like it had just been picked, although I bought it from Fred Meyer, so who knows how long it had been there. Thankfully it was from a Washington state farm, just north of Seattle! So good. In all the actual cooking part of this dinner took me 10 minutes. I am so thankful for my slow cooker. I use it almost everyday!

*Ok serious, how awesome is parchment paper? I used to live under a rock. Then a year ago I discovered parchment paper, due in no small part to my acquiring a coupon and finding it also on sale. Score! I haven’t looked back. There is just no reason not to always use it. I use it for cookies, in loaf pans, for baked fries, truly anything. Not only does it keep things from sticking, but there is literally no clean up! Wad it up and toss it. Love it! Ok, I’m done.

Leave a Reply

