Cauliflower and potato soup with home-baked baguette

Vegan MoFo food journal – October 2, 2012

The other day at Fred Meyer I happened upon a sack of russet potatoes for $1. I assume they are on their way out but they still had a couple of days so I snagged the bag. Yesterday I decided to make cauliflower and potato soup for dinner. I wanted to use a couple of the potatoes and a gorgeous head of cauliflower I picked up cheap at the farmer’s market down the hill. Here is the “recipe” (I wing it – sorry!)

Slow cooker cauliflower and potato soup

Drizzle the bottom of the crock with olive oil.

Chop up half an onion and pop it in a food processor with two cloves of garlic. Pulse a couple of times to mince.

Put onion and garlic mixture into crock.

Add salt and pepper, a couple shakes of ground ginger, half teaspoon of dried oregano.

Rough chop a half a head of cauliflower. Pop into crock.

Scrub and chop two medium/large russet potatoes (or whichever potatoes you have on hand.) Pop into crock.

Pour in 1/2 to 3/4 of a box of vegetable stock.  Put lid on crock and cook on low for 5-6 hours.

Use an immersion blender (or stand blender) to mix together after cooking. I like to leave chunks. Pour in 1/4 cup of almond or other alternative milk. Mix together and serve!

Crusty bread is necessary for potato soup, am I right??

I found this recipe for a simple baguette. I followed it as is, except I coated the loaves with Earth Balance vegan butter rather than dairy-based. Oh man, was it good. Check it out:

Yes, it all turned out SO GOOD. Yum-city!

One response to “Cauliflower and potato soup with home-baked baguette

  1. Pingback: Leftovers and a trip out of town « Making myself useful

Leave a Reply

