Polenta Trees with Roasted Vegetables

Vegan MoFo food journal – October 19, 2012

This afternoon I watched a new movie called “Vamps” starring Alicia Silverstone and Krysten Ritter. It was hilarious and silly! I watched in OnDemand through DirecTv.

I got distracted and didn’t start making dinner until 5:30 pm. Yikes! My bad. Usually I try to have it ready to go by that time because I never know when my man will be home. Fail! He didn’t care of course. I even asked him if he would like to cook with me when he got home but he ran straight to the NCLS (Go Giants!)

Thankfully I had a general idea of what I was going to make. Roasted veggies. It is a great way to use up all your leftover veggies. This week I had two beets, three potatoes, a bunch of carrots, parsley, and some garlic. I picked up a log of polenta earlier this week and decided that would be a perfect accompaniment!

That bunch of carrots was $1 at Carpinito Brothers!

Very easy recipe. Chop everything up, (I peeled the beets and carrots first) toss with olive oil and seasoning mix of your choice, and put in baking dish. I use a glass baking dish. I baked it at 425 degrees for about 45 minutes. I checked at 30 minutes and discovered the potatoes were a bit stiff still. So I let it all continue baking while I heated up the polenta in a sauce pan. I added almond milk and a couple of tablespoons of vegan butter to the polenta while mashing away to mix it up and make it creamy! To add a little interest I pulled down my basket of cookie cutters, selected a large Christmas tree, and filled it with the polenta on a plate. The result was quite cute:

Next time I think I will make a batch of the trees and bake them for a minute to get crispies on the top. Yumm-O!

*I will be away from home tomorrow working on the final wedding planning. Have a great Saturday!

Leave a Reply

