Crock Pot Pumpkin Lentil Stew

Vegan MoFo food journal – October 22, 2o12

Yesterday I made Crock Pot Pumpkin Lentil Stew. This is a recipe from laaloosh.com that I think I found on Pinterest (as is the case for most of the recipes I make.) I found it in the morning before I headed out to grocery shop.

A trip to Carpinito Bros was in order! Here is the spread I picked up for $20.

Awesome, right?

All of that except for the cranberries (from Ocean Spray) was grown right here in Washington state. Most of it was grown here in the Kent valley! I love how fresh it all is. I also stopped in at Winco to get non-produce items for the stew such as broth and lentils.

Crock Pot Pumpkin Lentil Stew

Ingredients

  • 2lbs fresh pumpkin, cut into bite sized pieces (butternut squash can also be used)
  • 1 cup green lentils
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 4 cups fat free vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt (or more to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • Fresh cilantro, chopped

Instructions

  1. In a 4qt slow cooker, combine all ingredients except yogurt and cilantro. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.
  2. When ready to serve, top each serving portion with an heaping tablespoon of yogurt and some fresh cilantro.

Read more: http://www.laaloosh.com/2012/09/26/crock-pot-pumpkin-lentil-stew-recipe/#ixzz2A8Mnnx00

from laaloosh.com

Now here is my disclaimer: I followed the instructions exactly. I even bought and carved up a pumpkin myself. I did not care for this stew. I don’t know why but it left an awful taste in my mouth and I had a hard time finishing my bowl. Hubby-to-be did like it and added a dollop of sour cream (not vegan) which he said made it better. Perhaps I should find some vegan sour cream. The non-vegan version of the recipe calls for a dollop of yogurt. I couldn’t find soy yogurt yesterday while shopping but didn’t think it a big deal as the recipe says you may omit it. I am going to try it for lunch today. Maybe it will be better the next day! Many dishes do get better with time. Here’s hoping!

2 responses to “Crock Pot Pumpkin Lentil Stew

  1. Ok, we’re meat eaters here, but some of this stuff you’re making makes my mouth water and looks delicious. I’m definitely roasting vegetables this weekend.

Leave a Reply

