Thanksgiving came to our house early!

Vegan MoFo food journal – October 26, 2012

The other day I got it in my head that we should have Thanksgiving food for dinner this week. Why should it only be one day that we eat candied yams and jellied cranberry sauce? (I already know the answer.)

I already had a GINORMOUS yam/sweet potato and most everything else I needed. However we were completely devoid of vegan marshmallows. We couldn’t possibly have Thanksgiving without gooey marshmallows! So off I went to PCC Market in Issaquah yesterday to buy us a bag of Dandies! First off, the drive from Kent to Issaquah via 900 is beautiful and rural and wooded. It was raining and so very wintry. Totally solidified my craving for holiday fare. I had never ventured into a PCC Market and found it quite like New Seasons market in Portland, OR. Both are quite fun and full of awesome vegan friendly goodies. Unfortunately I would really need to strike oil before being able to shop there very often. A little bit pricey! That’s OK though. Much of what they sell is local and specialty so I stands to reason.
After grabbing a bag of delicious Dandies Vegan Marshmallows (and several other things I hadn’t intended to buy but felt compelled) I took a quick jaunt to Trader Joe’s and picked up two bags full of items you just can’t buy anywhere else. We love us some TJ’s. 

Here is how I put together our Thanksgiving come early feast!

Ingredients

1 large yam/sweet potato

2 handfuls green beans, ends trimmed, cut into bite size pieces

My favorite!

1 can Ocean Spray jellied cranberry sauce

1 can olives, drained and rinsed

1 bag Dandies Vegan Marshmallows

1 recipe vegan cornbread

Recipe

Scrub and rinse whole sweet potato. Cook in slow cooker on low for 5 hours.

Prepare cornbread batter as directed. I baked mine in a round pan at 350°F for 30 minutes. It turned out perfect.

A little flat. Maybe next time I’ll use a smaller pan.

I put together a little appetizer plate with black olives and sliced jellied cranberry sauce. I sure love that stuff!

Show of hands – who else devours this cranberry sauce??

Once the sweet potato is soft and tender, remove it from the slow cooker and cut into bite size pieces. Mix in an oven-safe dish with 2-3 tbsp each vegan butter and brown sugar. Pop into oven still hot from the cornbread! Let the butter and sugar melt. Stir gently to combine then top with marshmallows. Be liberal!

This does not do the deliciousness any justice.

*Side note, if you want to broil the top for a minute: make sure it is only a minute. Otherwise the smoke will alert you to its readiness. 🙂

At the same time as the candied sweet potato is in the oven, place cleaned green beans in a steamer above boiling water and steam for 5 minutes until bright green and crisp.

Dish it all up and dig in!

I now wish I had made enough for leftovers!

One response to “Thanksgiving came to our house early!

Leave a Reply

