Gallery

Book review: What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

I have never actually written a book review but I enjoyed this book so much I felt compelled to share it with everyone.

Here is the summary from Goodreads:

Remember the woman you used to be …

Alice is twenty-nine. She is whimsical, optimistic and adores sleep, chocolate, her ramshackle new house and her wonderful husband Nick. What’s more, she’s looking forward to the birth of the ‘Sultana’ – her first baby. 

But now Alice has slipped and hit her head in her step-aerobics class and everyone’s telling her she’s misplaced the last ten years of her life.

In fact, it would seem that Alice is actually thirty-nine and now she loves schedules, expensive lingerie, caffeine and manicures. She has three children and the honeymoon is well and truly over for her and Nick. In fact, he looks at her like she’s his worst enemy. What’s more, her beloved sister Elisabeth isn’t speaking to her either. And who is this ‘Gina’ everyone is so carefully trying not to mention? 

Alice isn’t sure that she likes life ten years on. Every photo is another memory she doesn’t have and nothing makes sense. Just how much can happen in a decade? Has she really lost her lovely husband forever?

All I want to say is that if you have ever wished for a do-over in life, you might relate to this book. I was hooked from the moment I cracked it open. I literally could not read it fast enough. I just HAD to know how it ended and was rooting and cheering the whole way through.

For me this story gave me pause to evaluate where I am now compared to my younger self and if I am happy with my day-to-day and, most importantly, my personality. A good story tends to help me see myself in a different light and I think that is completely helpful.

Definitely add this to your must read list. I think it was one of Oprah’s summer books a couple of years ago. I wonder if this story made her evaluate her own persona. Let me know if you read it and what you think. I hope you enjoy it!

(Make sure you read the epilogue. Probably the best chapter of the entire book.)

3 responses to “Book review: What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

  1. Does it go in and out with the real Alice in Wonderland? If so, I’m sold. You had me though anyway! : )

Leave a Reply

