Gallery

Everyone needs a break now and then.

Vegan MoFo food journal – October 28, 2012

On Sunday we took it easy food-wise. We had several knocked-out-of-the-park dinners during the week and I needed a break! I know I’ve mentioned it before, but cooking is a very stressful activity for me. I love when it all comes together though and can enjoy all of my work!

So I popped open a jar of Trader Joe’s Giant White Beans, heated it up in the microwave, and crumbled up the leftover cornbread on top. Yum!

Have you tried these?

Talk about easy. Just what I needed after a long day of completing projects around the house. Accomplishment! I am currently working on my DVR. I still haven’t watched the shows I recorded on Thursday! The horror!

Good news in case you forgot – Halloween is this Wednesday! I’m so excited. I might actually dress up. I just hope {so much} that we have trick or treaters. Many houses in the neighborhood are now adorned with pumpkins and creepy skeletons, so my hopes are high. 🙂

I have so many fond memories of Halloweens from my childhood. It was such a big deal. When my sister and I were really little we were both enthralled with and scared to death of a house just across the street. In my memory they went all out with the decorations, lights, and sounds. They had giant wood cut outs of monsters with strobe lights pointed at them. I saw them during the day being completely innocuous and sort of silly. But once the sun went down, those things were alive and well and ready to cleaver me to bits. There were at least a couple of years that we refused to walk up that driveway. To this day, I give that house a side-long glance whenever I venture back to SoCal.

In third grade we lived in Northern California. My school put on a Halloween festival. I only vaguely remember it but I do vividly remember having to put my hand into a box to feel “brains” and “eyeballs”. I was so freaked out! The stupid thing was that I already knew it was spaghetti and peeled grapes. That just goes to show that your brain will believe whatever it wants!

Braaaaaaaaains!

Oddly, I don’t remember much about trick or treating in Junior High. Given that those were my favorite school years, you would think I would remember. I just don’t. It is dark. So weird! I will have to confer with my buddies and BFF to get the scoop – assuming they remember!

In High School we ran amok. Who let us out the door? It was just an excuse to be silly and stay out late which is why I feel bad for the kiddies this year, what with Halloween being on a school night. Not fair!

We haven’t been to a Halloween party in a few years. Our awesome neighbors in Oakland LOVE costume parties so that was always fun. Now I can’t wait to start dishing out the candy to all the cute kids!

Leave a Reply

