Gallery

Spaghetti and Vegan Meatlessballs – dig in!

Vegan MoFo food journal – October 27, 2012

The Vegan Month of Food is coming to a national close – but not in our house! Everything I make is vegan so every month is vegan food month and I like it that way. On Saturday it poured. And poured. And Griffey was sad because we couldn’t go to the dog park. And it poured some more. Hubby-to-be was out in the garage all day tinkering while I occasionally wandered out to ‘help’. (In other words, I was searching for attention and getting in the way.) He had suggested spaghetti and meatballs earlier in the week and I thought a chilly, rainy, stormy day called for fun comfort food.

I had been stoked to find this post for Meatlessballs over on gglarue.wordpress.com and set to work. Here is her recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (15oz) organic cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 flax egg – 1 tablespoon ground flax +2 tablespoons warm water, set aside for a few minutes to gel
  • 1/2 medium onion – chopped
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste – mix with a little water to thin before adding to mixture
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • a large handful of parsley – chopped
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 heaping tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • Enough of your favorite red pasta sauce to cover and serve with pasta, I used about 2 cups

Recipe:

  1. Pre-heat over to 350°F
  2. In a food processor, pulse beans a few times.  You want them chopped, but not pureed.  Keep it choppy.
  3. In a large bowl, transfer beans and mix in tomato paste.  After combined, toss in the rest of the ingredients and mix together.
  4. Roll mixture out into balls, place on baking sheet, then toss them in the oven.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
  6. In a large saucepan, heat sauce.  Place meatballs in sauce.  Spoon sauce over meatballs, make sure to coat them all.
  7. When meatballs are all coated and sauce is heated, top the meatless balls over some pasta and Enjoy!!

I followed the recipe (only using 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper) and ended up with these bad boys:

Attack of the Meatlessballs!

I was pretty jazzed. I mean, come on, they are gorgeous! Meanwhile I had purchased a large can of plain old tomato sauce at Safeway that I perked up with fresh basil leaves (from my kitchen window), minced onion, and garlic. A pot of water was heavily salted for a handful of spaghettini. I also had time to bake two little baguettes to sop up the sauce.

Here is the recipe I use for a quick baguette from The Sisters Cafe.

When it finally came together it was so lovely. But don’t take my word for it:

Pretty dang good if I do say so myself!

Thank you to ggLaRue and The Sisters Cafe for helping me put together this tasty meal. The meatlessballs were outstanding, and the baguettes get better every time I make them!

Leave a Reply

