Gallery

Chickenless Crispy Tenders with green beans and red lentils

Vegan MoFo food journal – October 29, 2012

Chickenless Crispy Tenders with green beans and red lentils

This was a really tasty meal. I went to Winco in the morning and bought a few pounds of bulk red lentils. I could eat lentils everyday. Probably should since they are so great for me!

Part One: Trader Joe’s Chickenless Crispy Tenders

Find them in the freezer section

Follow the directions on the package as they apply to you. You can microwave them first and bake less or bake from frozen. I find they turn out better when baked only. I put them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 15 minutes. Turn them over and bake for another 10 minutes, until crispy.

Part Two: Red Lentils

It is important to rinse those lentils!

1 c red lentils, sorted and rinsed thoroughly

1 tsp oil

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp turmeric

3 c water

Combine all ingredients in a sauce pot. Bring to a boil, stir and reduce heat to a simmer. Cook for 15-20 minutes until creamy.

My standard brands.

Part Three: Green Beans

Sort through as many green beans as you will need, removing yucky spots and stems. I like to snap them in half for more bite-size pieces. Salt and pepper to taste. Place in steamer for about 5 minutes until bright and tender.

This is my little steamer. It is perfect for 2-3 people depending on what you are steaming.

I cooked the lentils while the tenders were baking. I put them into the oven about 10 minutes in, since the tenders would have another 15 to go. It worked out well. The beans were turned on toward the end.

Here is the final product:

I could use a plate right now.

2 responses to “Chickenless Crispy Tenders with green beans and red lentils

  1. Those Trader Joe’s chickenless tenders are so good! I love them in wraps with veggies and barbecue sauce and in salads, too.

Leave a Reply

