Gallery

Meet new people! Make new friends!

Now that Vegan MoFo is over, I am turning my attention to my next project: meet new people and make new friends.

I am on a mission to overcome my crippling shyness. I was shy as a kid, like many youngsters. In middle school I magically lost my inhibition. I don’t know why or how but I recall being friends with everyone. Oh how I wish I had known to savor that exhilarating feeling of being unafraid! In high school, my reluctance to speak with new people quickly returned and by college I couldn’t talk to anyone without seeming like an imbecile. At least, I sounded like an imbecile in my head. I can’t be far off. I didn’t make a single friend in college. How does that even happen? I know some of the key players in making me that way but I can only blame myself for shutting down completely and not making more of an effort.

It started when my family moved 500 miles away from my childhood friends five days before high school started. The one person I did know at my new school straight up pretended I didn’t exist and snubbed me for the entire 4 years. It was the cruelest thing that has ever happened to me. Eventually I did make friends though and those people are truly lovely and I am thankful for them everyday. Unfortunately I live very far from all of them. We are still connected via Facebook and Twitter but it isn’t the same as being physically present.

I find myself desiring new buddies and friends but lack the courage and know-how to find them. I try to put myself out there as much as I can, but am often met with either rejection or apathy. I assume it is because in public, I tend to be very quiet, especially around people I don’t know. I am not a talker. I hardly ever have anything to say. I saw a funny ecard on the internet that basically sums me up:

Me, in a nutshell.

I found inspiration on another blog, MWF Seeking BFF. I happened upon it by chance. I had just joined WP and started my blog and was looking for ways to validate myself as a person when I realized that I needed outside influence. I read some of her posts and put a hold on her book at the library. Three pages into the book I logged onto meetup.com and joined 4 groups. One group is actually called Shy Gals of Puget Sound. Score! Her adventure and honesty are perfect inspiration for me. This Saturday the Shy Gals are meeting at a local holiday craft fair. I love those and wouldn’t be able to get my hubby-to-be to go. We are also meeting a walking group at a park on Saturday afternoon.

I am very excited and trying so hard not to psych myself out. In my past life, I would fake sick or injury to get out of social engagements. I am attempting a new philosophy: say yes to everything! (*Unless it is illegal!) I have signed up for a hike and a jog. I have this blog which I am really loving. The community in the blogosphere is so welcoming.  I am signing up for different volunteer positions. Please let me know if you have any suggestions! Or if you are in the Kent/Seattle area and would want to meet up, let me know!

I will post about my attempts, trials, tribulations, and hopefully successes! This is really important to me and I will fight myself to stay positive. HTB is being really supportive as well. Here is to new beginnings and new friends!

2 responses to “Meet new people! Make new friends!

  1. This is really admirable. I definitely can relate to the awkward thing. And, it is HARD meeting new people once your a bit more grown up, I think. I can’t wait to hear (read) how it goes!

  2. This is so cool, and you are brave! This is when saying “yes” can be a very good thing. I hope you have a good time with your new friends this weekend!

Leave a Reply

