Gallery

Slow cooker cran-raspberry preserves

Over the summer we were given a flat of raspberries. That is a lot of raspberries! They have mostly been sitting quietly in the freezer waiting for some stroke of genius from me to put them to use.

Yesterday I went on a fridge-cleaning bender and rediscovered the bag of cranberries I bought a few weeks ago at the farm stand. This lead to the brainstorm that resulted in cran-raspberry preserves!

I found a great base recipe for slow cooker raspberry preserves at Crock Pot Ladies and altered it just a bit. Used the same measurements but used both cranberries and raspberries. Here is how I put it together:

Ingredients:

2 Cups Raspberries
4 Cups Cranberries
3/4-1 Cup Sugar
2 Teaspoon Lemon Juice
Recipe:
  1. “Chop” berries in a blender until they are small bits
  2. Add ingredients to the slow cooker
  3. Cook on low for 4 to 6 hours with the lid ajar stirring every so often
  4. Once the berries have thickened to your liking, turn the crock-pot off
  5. Add preserves to jelly jars hot
  6. Add lids and rings
  7. Hot water bath for 20 minutes
  8. You can also freeze these in containers

Yum!

And that is it! It smelled wonderful going in. The jars of apple butter I made earlier this fall are running low, so this will be ready to go once I’m all out. Enjoy!

Cran-raspberry jam in a jar.

One response to “Slow cooker cran-raspberry preserves

  1. I wonder what I’ll find in my fridge … I just hope I find something as yummy as you did 🙂

Leave a Reply

