Gallery

Caution: rambling ahead.

I need a job. Or at least a way to generate a little bit of income. Looking for a job is a ton of work and is just not very fun. My cover letter and resume are top-notch, having spent significant time perfecting it, so at least I don’t have to worry about that. But combing through Monster and Craigslist is annoying and ridiculously time-consuming.

The last time I was looking for work was a year ago when I left California and moved to  Oregon. My resume was flying around the internet at an alarming rate but I found out quickly that many of the ads I was responding to were fake.

How did I know they were fake? Because the responses I got asked for my name, birthday, social security number, and sometimes even my credit card information! The gall! The audacity! That lead me to wonder, do people actually respond with their most personal information? Who falls for that? I feel bad for them. Time to enroll in the school of life, folks! It is just so dangerous.

So here I am, fruitlessly picking through Craigslist, looking for my ideal job. What is my ideal job? That wasn’t rhetorical. I really don’t know. Someone tell me, please! I can’t be the only person without direction however it often feels that way. I am envious of people who know what they want to do with their lives from an early age and go for it. Now they are lawyers, actors, teachers, writers. And I am nothing. I would love to work for myself but I haven’t been able to come up with any great ideas. I am toying with starting a doggie daycare type business but I’m scared to make the leap.

I’ve always been a pretty decisive person but for whatever reason, I just can’t pinpoint what I want to do with my life. I wonder if this is some sort of 30 year crisis. Maybe! Is it too much to ask for my perfect job to fall into my lap?

My apologies for the rambling mess today!

Peace offering from my dining room table. 🙂

2 responses to “Caution: rambling ahead.

  1. My perception of you is that you are very creative. Is there something you could do from home? I’ve worked at home for almost 16 years now, but I’m really winding down with the used book business. It’s been back-breaking, and too much hard work for the return. I’m thinking I’ll be out after the first of the year looking for work myself. Something with health insurance would be nice. I hope you find something you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

