Gallery

Vegan Breakfast: Peanut Butter Waffles

Sunday mornings are our big breakfast mornings. We rotate between veggie sausage and potatoes, and pancakes. Today I wanted something different and stuffing! So I went for rib-sticking peanut butter waffles from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. This is a fabulous book filled with the standards (omelets, pancakes, potatoes) and awesome spins like crepes and stuffed artichokes. All vegan and all delicious! I grab this cookbook at least once per week.

Today’s waffles were excellent. As Mr. said, they tasted just like peanut butter cookies, only in waffle form! The crunchy bits were my favorite part but you could use creamy butter too. (I don’t know why you would want to though!)

Here is my spin on her recipe. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

3/4 c chunky nut butter (I used a combination of peanut and almond)

3 tbsp pure maple syrup

3 tbsp vegetable oil (or canola)

2 c non-dairy milk (I used almond)

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 1/4 c flour (I used white whole wheat)

1 tbsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg (fresh is best but I used a jar)

Cooking spray

Recipe:

Preheat your waffle iron.

In a large bowl, mix the nut butter, maple syrup, and oil. Separately, mix the milk and cornstarch then add to the batter. Add the vanilla and mix well.

Add the flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg and mix until the batter is smooth. Mine was really thick and gooey.

Ooegy gooey batter

Spray the waffle iron with cooking spray and cook your waffles. I used about a half cup of batter per waffle and smooshed it to fill the pan.

Waffle with Earth Balance butter. Can’t you just smell it??

I only got 7 waffles out of it, but we could each only eat 2 so we have leftovers for tomorrow! This is a good thing because tomorrow starts three days of crazy holiday prep and a spin class!

I love leftovers!

One response to “Vegan Breakfast: Peanut Butter Waffles

  1. Pingback: Safe & Scrumptious from Scratch – Recipe: Whole Wheat Sunbutter Sourdough Banana Waffles or Pancakes (nut-free, dairy-free, egg-free, vegan)

Leave a Reply

