Gallery

Vegan Breakfast – Banana Nut Butter Quinoa Bread

This Thanksgiving we will have a full house and I decided to make a quick breakfast bread to have after we’ve stuffed ourselves at the main event.

I found this recipe for vegan and gluten-free banana bread at Eating Whole and adapted it to what I had on hand. I ended up with two scrumptious loaves of moist, chocolatey  banana bread just waiting to be gobbled up. It is dense but not over powering. You definitely feel like you ate breakfast after a slice (or two!)

Here is the original recipe.

Here is my version:

Banana Nut Butter Quinoa Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup quinoa flour
  • 1 Cup oats
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 ripened bananas
  • 4 Tablespoons ground flax seed
  • 4 Tablespoons organic apple sauce
  • 4 Tablespoons organic nut butter
  • optional: 2 handfuls of your favorite chocolate chips

Recipe:

If you don’t have quinoa flour – make your own! I put a cup of quinoa into my food processor and let it ride while I assembled the rest of the ingredients. In a few minutes I had light fluffy flour. One cup of the quinoa seeds actually made more than one cup of flour. Deal!

Preheat your oven to 400ºF.

In a small bowl, mix the ground flax seed with 12 tbsp of water. Let it sit for a few minutes until it gels.

In a large bowl, mix the bananas, apple sauce, nut butter (I used almond), and flax seed mix together. Add in the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. I used a hand mixer for this and it worked great.

Stir in some of the chocolate chips but keep some for the top.

This batter should make two loaves. Grease your loaf pans and pour the batter in. Sprinkle the rest of the chocolate chips on the tops of the loaves.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Mine took the whole 25 minutes. I tested with a toothpick at 20 minutes and again at 25 minutes. Always test!

When they are done baking the loaves should look like this:

Hearty and not too sweet.

Mine ended up more flat than tall, which is fine because the bread is dense enough to fill you up with a small chunk.

Big thanks to Eating Whole for the base recipe and inspiration. I can’t wait to share this with my family and dig in myself!

4 responses to “Vegan Breakfast – Banana Nut Butter Quinoa Bread

  1. Oh this looks wonderful! I made simple little puff pastry sticks today. Some filled with strawberry jam and some with cinnamon, raisins, and brown sugar. It made for a lovely breakfast treat while all the festivities got under way!

Leave a Reply

