Gallery

Vegan Thanksgiving: chocolate-dipped apricots

One of my appetizers was dried apricots dipped in chocolate. The original recipe is from The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone.

I accidentally cooked the chocolate too long and it turned into a thick frosting-like glob, but was tasty nonetheless. I was so busy with the mega-cooking that I neglected to take many photos. Here is the only photo I have of them:

They resembled acorns.

Ingredients:

2 c chocolate chips ( I used dairy-free semi-sweet)

1/4 c maple syrup

2 tbsp oil (I used vegetable)

20-ish dried apricots

Recipe:

Put the chocolate chips, maple syrup, and oil in a double boiler (or bowl over boiling water.) Turn off heat and mix for 5-10 minutes until combined.

Dip the apricots in the chocolate and place on wax or parchment paper to chill. I actually chilled them in the garage. It was colder out there than in the refrigerator  Also, there wasn’t any room in the fridge. 🙂 The chocolate hardened quickly and I stored them all in an air-tight container in the garage until the appetizer table was ready to go.

My picture doesn’t help much so here is one I didn’t take:

This is roughly how they should look. My chocolate was clumpy but it all mixes in your mouth and tastes great, so who cares?

Cheers!

4 responses to “Vegan Thanksgiving: chocolate-dipped apricots

  1. The idea of maple syrup in the chocolate sounds really good! I’m sure these apricots are delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Everything tastes better draped in chocolate! I’ll have to try this!

Leave a Reply

