Gallery

Vegan Slow Cooker – Sweet Potato and Chard Dal

After a particularly challenging spin class, I was looking for a quick dinner to put in the slow cooker while I went grocery shopping. I had a gigantic sweet potato left over from Thanksgiving that I wanted to use.

On my way to the kitchen I grabbed my copy of The Vegan Slow Cooker by Kathy Hester.

Such a great birthday present. Thank you, Mom!

It magically opened to a delicious-sounding Indian recipe for sweet potato and chard dal. I LOVE Indian food. I’d eat it every day if I could and miraculously I had everything on hand so I set to work. Yay!

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, diced

Veggies

1 tsp garam masala

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp cumin

Pinch of chili powder

Salt, to taste (I used two pinches)

1 large sweet potato, diced

Huge potato!

1 bunch chard, washed, chopped, dried

I used a bunch of rainbow chard and it was tasty.

1 1/2 c yellow split peas

No need to pre-soak!

4 c water

Recipe:

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Saute onion with the garam masala, turmeric, cumin, chili powder, and salt until translucent, 3 – 5 minutes.

Sauteing the onions and spices.

Combine the onion mixture, sweet potato, split peas, and water in slow cooker. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. About 20 minutes before serving, add chard, cooking until tender.

I layered the ingredients for max efficiency.

I boxed this up and took it to my husband’s office as he was working late and I knew he was starving. We scarfed it down and there was enough left over for lunches for today!

Lunch is served!

This is a great dish if you aren’t sure about Indian food. It is easy and fragrant but not overly spiced. You could definitely kick it up a notch with additional chili powder, etc., but I like things mild so it was ideal for me.

Leave a Reply

