Gallery

Mount Si hike

Mr. James loves to climb mountains. I like to hike too, but I’m not nearly as crazy about it as he is. He is trained to climb massive mountains and I am not. So when we go together we go for difficult but not technical. This past weekend we ventured up to North Bend, WA to Mount Si.

Just off I-90

Just off I-90

Upon arrival we realized we needed a Washington State Discover Pass so we headed into town to Ace Hardware and bought an annual pass.

Mount Si

Mount Si

The hike from the main trail head parking lot is 8 miles round trip and rises up to almost 4200 feet in elevation. This was Griffey’s first time in the snow also!

Griffey

Griffey

His coat wouldn’t stay on correctly so we teased him about his flipped up skirt. He had a great time though. So many new smells!

Going up!

Going up!

Ten minutes in and I was already tired. Good thing we still had two hours of uphill in front of us. At least there was snow! It actually snowed pretty heavily while we were climbing. At the top there were already a few inches accumulated. I threw a snowball at Griffey but he didn’t get it. Silly pup!

Trail Leader Griffey and Mr. James

Trail Leader Griffey and Mr. James

At the top!

At the top!

At the top and surprisingly not dead. I seriously don’t know how I made it. At about 3.5 miles my legs turned to jelly. Mind over matter yo!

Mr. James climbing up the rock pile at the top.

Mr. James climbing up the rock pile at the top.

It is not an easy hike and definitely wore us out. Griff complained the whole way down and I did my best to suffer in silence.

I really don't know. :)

I really don’t know. 🙂

Warm

Warm

When we got home Griffey parked himself in front of the fire and fell asleep. I took a bath and thawed out!

3 responses to “Mount Si hike

  1. Wonderful pictures, and what a great day you had. I’m so happy for Griffey that he got you two as parents. “I really don’t know” – very funny. 🙂

  2. I bet that was so much fun for your pooch! Well done anyway, the last pic looks so cosy and lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

